Letters Help

Writing letters either by post or email to our politicians and newspapers is a powerful way for you to express opinions on matters that concern us all. With the support of the public the Friends of Strathcona will do everything possible to achieve our mission.

Your letter really does help! As a guide we have listed some talking points you may wish to consider, or you can browse other letters that have been posted as blog entries. We have listed below some of our politicians, newspapers, and radio stations you could send your letter to. In addition please send a copy of your letter to us.

Talking points about Privatization of Strathcona Park

  • For this government, public interest takes second place to corporate interest.
  • The Minister has disregarded the Master Plan.
  • The majority of people (90%) expressed their opposition to park privatization and they have been ignored.
  • The mandate for the public hearings was that corporate interests would be served.
  • The criteria of the public hearings asked the wrong questions.
  • The public hearing process was driven by Clayoquot Wilderness Resort.
  • The government ignored the recommendation of its own Strathcona Park Public Advisory Committee(SPPAC), to not grant this permit.
  • The government signed off on a plan, then presented it to SPPAC as a draft plan.
  • This decision is not in the public interest: it’s a violation of the public trust.
  • The decision has the appearance of supporting one private corporation over the public good.
  • The park is for people, not commercial interests.
  • Do the people of BC want to see Strathcona Park undermined by a major change in the policy, direction, and intent of our provincial parks?
  • It’s not about horses, it’s about a major policy change for the park, done in an undemocratic way.

Friends of Strathcona Park

  • friendsofstrathcona@gmail.com
  • 250 337 1871
  • Box 3404, Courtenay, BC V9N 5N5

Environmental Groups, Not-For-Profits

Organization Contact Info Email
Canadian Parks & Wilderness Society-BC info info@cpawsbc.org
Fed of Mountain Clubs of BC info fmcbc@mountainclubs.org
Friends of Clayoquot Sound info info@focs.ca
Sierra Club BC info susan@sierraclub.bc.ca
Wilderness Committee info info@wildernesscommittee.org
Wilderness Committee – Mid Island info wcwcqb@shaw.ca

All environmental email addresses, plus us: copy and paste to your email program

info@cpawsbc.org, fmcbc@mountainclubs.org, info@focs.ca, susan@sierraclub.bc.ca, info@wildernesscommittee.org, wcwcqb@shaw.ca, friendsofstrathcona@gmail.com

Newspapers

Provide your name, city/town, and home phone number. Short letters have a higher chance of being published.

Letters to the Editor Contact Info Letters Email
The Canadian Press info dmeissner@cp.org
Comox Valley Record info letters@comoxvalleyrecord.com
Comox Valley Echo info echo@comoxvalleyecho.com
Campbell River Mirror info editor@campbellrivermirror.com
Campbell River Courier info editor@courierislander.com
Gold River Record info record@island.net
Island Word 336 2143 islandword@shaw.ca Comox Valley, Campbell River
Discovery Islander info news@discoveryislands.ca Quadra, Cortes Islands
Alberni Valley Times info news@avtimes.net
Tofino-Ucluelet Westerly info office@westerlynews.ca
Parksville Oceanside Star info letters@oceansidestar.com
Parksville Qualicum News info editor@pqbnews.com
reporter@pqbnews.com
Cowichan Valley Citizen info news@cowichanvalleycitizen.com
Island Tides info news@islandtides.com Gulf Islands
Nanaimo Daily News info letters@nanaimodailynews.com
Nanaimo News Bulletin info editor@nanaimobulletin.com
The Tyee.ca info editor@thetyee.ca
The Westcoaster info ykdrews@seaviewcable.net
TideChange editor@tidechange.ca
Victoria Times Colonist info letters@timescolonist.com
Vancouver Province info provletters@theprovince.com provide full address
Vancouver Sun info sunletters@vancouversun.com 200 words max, no photos

All newspaper email addresses, plus us: copy and paste to your email program

dmeissner@cp.org, letters@comoxvalleyrecord.com, echo@comoxvalleyecho.com, editor@campbellrivermirror.com, editor@courierislander.com, record@island.net, islandword@shaw.ca, news@discoveryislands.ca, news@avtimes.net, office@westerlynews.ca, letters@oceansidestar.com, editor@pqbnews.com, reporter@pqbnews.com, news@cowichanvalleycitizen.com, news@islandtides.com, letters@nanaimodailynews.com, editor@nanaimobulletin.com, info@thetyee.ca, ykdrews@seaviewcable.net, editor@tidechange.ca, letters@timescolonist.com, provletters@theprovince.com, sunletters@vancouversun.com, friendsofstrathcona@gmail.com

Radio

Station Show Contact Info Email
CBC-Victoria On The Island info victoria@cbc.ca
All Points West info
CBC-Vancouver BC Almanac info almanac@vancouver.cbc.ca
The Early Edition info earlyed@cbc.ca
On The Coast info onthecoast@cbc.ca
The Eagle: Comox Valley, Campbell River info rskinner@islandradio.bc.ca
Jet FM: Comox Valley info news@jetfm.ca
Radio Free Cortes: Cortes Island info radiofreecortes@yahoo.ca

All radio email addresses, plus us: copy and paste to your email program

victoria@cbc.ca, almanac@vancouver.cbc.ca, earlyed@cbc.ca, onthecoast@cbc.ca, rskinner@islandradio.bc.ca, news@jetfm.ca, radiofreecortes@yahoo.ca, friendsofstrathcona@gmail.com

Television

Station Contact Info Email
CBC-BC info
CHEK NEWS info cheknews@cheknews.ca
CTV-BC info bcassign@ctv.ca
Global-BC info tips@GlobalTVBC.com
A Channel – Victoria info islandcontactus@atv.ca

All television email addresses, plus us: copy and paste to your email program

cheknews@cheknews.ca, bcassign@ctv.ca, tips@GlobalTVBC.com, islandcontactus@atv.ca, friendsofstrathcona@gmail.com

Politicians

Contact Info Email
Christy Clark Premier of BC premier@gov.bc.ca
Adrian Dix Leader of the NDP adrian.dix.mla@leg.bc.ca
Jane Sterk Leader of the Green Party leader@greenparty.bc.ca
Terry Lake Minister of Environment env.minister@gov.bc.ca
Rob Fleming NDP Environment Critic rob.fleming.mla@leg.bc.ca
Don McRae MLA Comox Valley don.mcrae.mla@leg.bc.ca
Claire Trevena MLA Campbell River claire.trevena.mla@leg.bc.ca
Ron Cantelon MLA Parksville-Qualicum ron.cantelon.mla@leg.bc.ca
Scott Fraser MLA Alberni-Pacific Rim scott.fraser.mla@leg.bc.ca
Don Cadden Regional Manager, BC Parks Don.Cadden@gov.bc.ca

All politicians’ email addresses, plus us: copy and paste to your email program

premier@gov.bc.ca, adrian.dix.mla@leg.bc.ca, leader@greenparty.bc.ca, env.minister@gov.bc.ca, rob.fleming.mla@leg.bc.ca, don.mcrae.mla@leg.bc.ca, claire.trevena.mla@leg.bc.ca, ron.cantelon.mla@leg.bc.ca, scott.fraser.mla@leg.bc.ca, Don.Cadden@gov.bc.ca, friendsofstrathcona@gmail.com

All environmental groups, newspapers, radio, television, and politicians, plus us: recommended… let them all know you care!

info@cpawsbc.org, fmcbc@mountainclubs.org, info@focs.ca, susan@sierraclub.bc.ca, info@wildernesscommittee.org, wcwcqb@shaw.ca, dmeissner@cp.org, letters@comoxvalleyrecord.com, echo@comoxvalleyecho.com, editor@campbellrivermirror.com, editor@courierislander.com, record@island.net, islandword@shaw.ca, news@discoveryislands.ca, news@avtimes.net, office@westerlynews.ca, letters@oceansidestar.com, editor@pqbnews.com, reporter@pqbnews.com, news@cowichanvalleycitizen.com, news@islandtides.com, letters@nanaimodailynews.com, editor@nanaimobulletin.com, info@thetyee.ca, ykdrews@seaviewcable.net, editor@tidechange.ca, letters@timescolonist.com, provletters@theprovince.com, sunletters@vancouversun.com, victoria@cbc.ca, almanac@vancouver.cbc.ca, earlyed@cbc.ca, onthecoast@cbc.ca, rskinner@islandradio.bc.ca, news@jetfm.ca, radiofreecortes@yahoo.ca, premier@gov.bc.ca, adrian.dix.mla@leg.bc.ca, leader@greenparty.bc.ca, env.minister@gov.bc.ca, rob.fleming.mla@leg.bc.ca, don.mcrae.mla@leg.bc.ca, claire.trevena.mla@leg.bc.ca, ron.cantelon.mla@leg.bc.ca, scott.fraser.mla@leg.bc.ca, cheknews@cheknews.ca, bcassign@ctv.ca, tips@GlobalTVBC.com, islandcontactus@atv.ca, Don.Cadden@gov.bc.ca, friendsofstrathcona@gmail.com

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: